What are Chakras?

Chakra is a Sanskrit work that means wheel or spinning ball.

Chakra Man

The chakras are energy centers in our spiritual bodies.

Our “being” consists of three bodies, we have our physical body that we can all touch and feel. We have the emotional/mental bodies that we understand and get to know our sensitivity inside. The third and “less known” but much more important (in my opinion) are our spiritual body. The subtle and delicate part to our spiritual body is what I believe makes it much less known and understood. Through the practice of Reiki, meditation or yoga we can learn to be more in tune with the spiritual body – and balance all three of them together.

We all have 7 main chakras in our spiritual body, we have many other chakras in our ears, hands feet and other places as well. There are many other little chakras in our bodies that are called meridians, they are what acupuncturists work with when creating energy channels throughout our spiritual and physical body. So the understanding of chakras is not some “new age” idea or newly discovered thing. I believe it is because of the “new age” we are in that people are becoming more and more open and aware of their spiritual bodies as we evolve.

The 7 main chakras in our bodies all govern certain areas of our physical and emotional self. I will go in more depth about each one of them on each individual chakra page, just click on each name of the chakra below to find more information about each chakra.

Crown Chakra ~ governs our connection to “Our Creator” however it is you define “Our Creator” usually this chakra is either open or closed, there is not usually an in-between.

Third Eye or Brow Chakra ~ governs out psychic sense and visions. When this chakra is open and working properly we will likely be very in-sync with other and things around us.

Throat Chakra ~ governs our voice and creativity. The throat chakra when open someone will have the ability to speak their truth without worry and express themselves well.

Heart Chakra ~ governs our emotions and feelings. The heart also governs our actual physical heart, when someone has heart dis-ease it is likely they unresolved have emotional issues as well.

Solar Plexus ~ governs your connection to “the other side”, it is also said that an ethereal cord is connected from our physical bodies and our spiritual bodies through the solar plexus chakra. This chakra also governs the “me” part of your personality it is the center of personal power, ambition, intellect, astral force, desire. If the root is your foundation and the sacral your senses then the solar plexus is how you identify yourself.

Sacral Chakra ~ governs your sense of taste, smell, sensuality, sexual and reproductive organs, it also governs the pancreas, spleen and intestines. When the sacral chakra is unbalanced one can have problems in any of these physical areas or have trouble with their own sexuality.

Root Chakra  ~ governs your ability to feel safe and connected to this earth. When this chakra is out-of-order one will feel insecure, not safe, not taken care of, I find lots of people have this trouble with their root chakra and in my opinion we need the root to be strong otherwise all the other chakras have a problem being on a shaky foundation.

 Namaste, Rev. Starlene Breiter RMT (Reiki Master Teacher)


 Visit our sister website Rocks And Reiki for Reiki blessed gems, jewelry, astrological consultations & more.

Rocks And Reiki Banner

Click Banner to be taken to RocksAndReiki.com

Articles written by Starlene Brieter RMT. © Rocks And Reiki, Inc.

Duplication of this article in parts or its entirety, either written, printed or posted on website or blog MUST have written permission from Starlene Breiter to do so. If not you are in violation of copyright laws and subject to further action being pursued. Click here to read more about our copyright information.

%d bloggers like this: